5 days in using BP & Broth. Next 5 days just distilled water and salt

(Bob) #1

I am a long haul trucker. I had to get out of ketosis for 5 days to pass a D.O.T. physical so no ketones would show in my urine test. Decided to start a 14 day fast to get back to normal. 5 days now using 3 BP decaf coffees in the morning and tomorrow will start just using distilled water and pink H salt for the duration. Was it a mistake to use the BP coffee? I feel fine except for the toxins being flushed out every 2 hours which just started today and no hunger but lacking a little energy. Been Keto adapted for 9 weeks and the longest fast was 3 days. I’m wondering if cheating 5 days with BP will make the next 9 harder. Lost 30 lbs and A1C went from 7.9 to 6.5. and Lipid panel and LDL P test results were so good that my doctor took me off statin last week. My only other fast has been a 4 day water/salt which went OK.

(Griffin Mekelburg) #2

Just wondering but why did you need 0 ketones in a physical for DOT?
I do think 3 BPC would be a bit too many calories due to all the fat and may stall your fasting into really more of just a hypo-caloric state. Someone else please chime in here, but I think it may be easier to feast for a day or so then go back into fasting, but if anyone has a comment on fasting from a low calorie state please let me know!!

Good luck gettin back on track sounds like you have a solid plan ahead!! :smiley:

(Bob) #3