45m, old hand with ketogenic diets, starting again for the final time

hashimotos
newbies
cooking

(Banting & Yudkin & Atkins & Eadeses & Cordain & Taubes & Volek & Naiman & Bikman ) #1

Hi all,

I’ve been doing some version of ketogenic dieting for the last 17 years. I have yo-yoed, I have fallen off, I have gotten back on, I have fallen off again. I’m sick of the cycle.

Back in 2007, I lost 55 lbs using the Protein Power Lifeplan, keeping carbs to <40g/day, <10/meal/snack. I was a data fiend, a goal crusher, on the verge of writing my own self-help book. I fell off during a two week trip for work and have never had that level of everything together again.

I’m working to recreate what I had a decade ago. But doing it smarter. Then, I had a weight goal. I got there, and then what? Now, I do not have a weight goal. If I sat down with a spreadsheet like I did compulsively then, I could come up with one, but I’ve learned a lot about myself in the intervening 10 years, and that’s not the goal. It’s about health and fitness.

The things I was doing then: I was weighing daily and charting every half pound. Now, I am logging meals daily, and charting compliance.

Then, I had my thyroid properly adjusted for my hashimoto’s. Now, my doc just got my first normal thyroid reading after 6 months of tinkering. One more clean one, and I don’t have to see Doc M every month and change. Not that I don’t enjoy her company, but I’d like to keep more of my blood in me.

Then, I was a gym rat. 5 days a week at work, lift on MWF, HIIT on TTh. Obsessive about data. Now, I am walking and stair climbing, and getting the eagerness to get back in the gym back. I’m a month deep in keto, and I suspect April will be when I want to get back to the gym.