40 and DETERMINED

(Rachel Rees) #1

Just stumbled across your community and how excited am I? Totally excited! I am on day 8 of a low carb diet, googling and instagraming for meal ideas, no LC, Keto friends to chat to as of yet so you can imagine my delight finding you all here. I am 40, obese, suffering and I mean suffering with chronic fibromyalgia to the point my mobility has been affected, under active thyroid and if I am completely honest bouts of depression about accepting my health. So back to it, 40 years old and not happy anymore to just accept this is it. Weight needs to come off and I need to get healthy. Day 8 and feeling positive. Three days in and I got a awful chronic headache I would say lasting three-four days but not I have more energy and am feeling very positive. Any tips would be gratefully received :slight_smile: Rachel

(Jen ) #2

Hi @rachel_rees!

I’m a newbie as well (Day 5) and this site is AMAZING!!! Like you I was googling keto & on Insta (where almost no one will share their keto pumpkin pie recipe :roll_eyes:). I haven’t had any issues here, everyone is helpful and you get pretty quick responses from people (I’m assuming because there are people from all over the world here). The recipes section though… :raised_hands:t3:

Welcome!!

Headache is quite normal but you might be able to alleviate it with salt and magnesium. Make sure you are getting enough salt daily - a good teaspoon or two. Stay hydrated, rest up as much as you can and don’t go hungry.

You might be interested in reading some info a good friend of mine put together about recovery from fibro. Message me if you would like me to send it to you. It is just her story and some resource links.

Good luck with your keto journey. x

(Rachel Rees) #4

Ooh pumpkin pie, thanks for the welcome Jen. Yes please Daisy would defo like to read that and pleased to say the headaches have now gone, can they come back?

(KCKO, KCFO) #5