1st Extended Fast Started 2 days ago

(Suzanne Leigh) #1

Hi Gang,
I’ve been eating LCHF for 2 years. Spent several months deep in ketosis, but then started eating more vegetables and a bit more protein and dropped to low levels. I was lean and my goal changed to building muscle. Fast forward to August of this year, I started losing my waist, getting thick in the middle, and the constipation I’d battled with got worse. I started itching at night on my arms and shoulders. I extended my fasting window, hitting16:8 most days. Kept after my training, got good sleep, tracked my macros etc, but the symptoms got worse. By early November my waist had grown by 6". I literally looked 4-5 months pregnant. My hormones were way high (estrogen and progesterone) and my thyroid was way off as well…the bloodwork showed hyperthyroid, but I was exhibiting classic hypothyroid symptoms. Had some western tests–colonoscopy and vaginal ultrasound–that came out fine. Rather than chase my tail with western medicine I’ve decided to do a water fast to re-set my system. I’m on hour 52. Not hungry but not motivated to do much. Just posting this here as accountability and to thank each of you for your wonderful contributions. You’ve taught me so much!

PS–A bit more about me. I turned 50 at the end of September 2017 and celebrated the big event in Perth, Australia, where I spent all of 2017. I’ve been traveling for 3 years, mostly in Western Australia and SE Asia, always staying near a great gym and cooking 99% of my own food to keep track of macros and healthy fats etc. I’m a keto coach and have specialized in in-house nutritional rehabs, for lack of a better term. I move in with people for 30 days at a time, get them into nutritional ketosis using a well formulated plan, do all their shopping and cooking, and teach them how to adopt a ketogenic lifestyle. I don’t yet have a website…word of mouth does wonders.