100% keto restaurants—will the future see them?

(Paul Melzer) #1

Newbie here—loving it—wondering whether or when there will be full-on keto restaurants all around us? I’m here in California and am thinking “Wow, if I had the means to open a new restaurant, this seems an opportunity to beat everyone else to the punch—open a fully keto-based restaurant, with gourmet offerings to show folks that such a lifestyle can be delicious as well.” While we can manage to maneuver our way through the menus in many or most restaurants (like any restrictive diet, I suppose), it’s just not much fun. Such a new restaurant (or even collection of such) would provide educational opportunities to a community as well as provide a place to treat yourself and loved ones to a meal out on the town.

Anyway, I’m kind of surprised that nobody’s jumped on this opportunity yet, and I’m curious about you experts and long-time keto folks as to why. Wouldn’t it be a success, especially if it were not too large a place?

Cheers,

P

(Tom Seest) #2

I think there will be some, but they’ll be limited like vegan and vegetarian establishments for a while.

It takes awhile for people to unlearn what they learned.

(Paul Melzer) #3

I’ll say!

As I’ve found my way into this lifestyle, I see supermarkets with new eyes: rows and rows of carbohydrate. I found my way to this diet not through desire to lose weight, but for general health and for my sport (endurance running), but was, and am, so pleasantly surprised about the mental and energy benefits. I wasn’t looking for these things, but they’re what are the constants that tell me this is not going to be a fad that I discard after a time.

Anyway, I would think that a smallish (say, seating 2 or 3 dozen people) restaurant would fair well in a city of my home town (about 70k) with a main highway passing through and set between two major cities (Los Angeles and Palm Springs).

(Tom Seest) #4