Your experience with omega 3 and 6 balance

Hello everybody,

I was wondering if anyone noticed some big differences when consciously trying to balance the ratio of omega 3 to 6. What kind of symptoms made you pay attention to it?

I don’t eat vegetable oils, but I do eat a lot of grain fed (i.e. cheaper) chicken and pork. I understand that the quality of the food is important, but I like to think that the worst meat is still better than the best bread… And I am a student on a budget, so I do what I can.

I would prefer not to buy a supplement, but I’m going to start to eat sardines weekly to help a little bit. I would just like to know who’s paying attention to this ratio (or not!), why and how.

Thank you

(Davy) #2

I’ve started paying attention. At worst, I’ll do 1:2 in omega3 to omega6, but strive for 1:1.
In 10 days I’ll let you know how this has done for me, as I get blood work done then. Can’t tell any differences yet, but know it’s really good for you/me. There are numerous benefits. At your age, you’ll probably add 10-20 years to your life, with better brain health/thinking ability all the way to 100.
Chia seeds are a little better than flax seeds, but both are good. They’re pretty cheap. I don’t care for the flax seeds, too plumpy, but the chia seeds are easy to get down; 1 or 2 tbsp is no problem.
Mackerel is pretty inexpensive, for a variety. Walnuts are great.
Carlsen Cod liver oil, if you can afford it, is great and packed stuff.

(Windmill Tilter) #3

Here is my budget plan for getting a 1.5:1 ratio of O6:O3. I’ve been eating this way for quite a while, and I’ll be doing it for at least the next 3 months. I’ve been eating hamburger and herring dail6 pretty much since I started keto, so it’s impossible to separate any O3 benefits from my general keto NSV’s. I feel fit as a fiddle, but I may have even if I didn’t eat as much fatty fish.