Yet another study showing (very) high LDL does not mean atherosclerosis

(Bob M) #1

A study where they looked at people with high to very high LDL…yet many of them had CAC (coronary arterial calcification) scores of zero or <100. A score of zero means low risk, low to no atherosclerosis.

One quote: “In patients with severe hypercholesterolemia, 45% had CAC = 0, which was associated with a significantly lower ASCVD risk.”

As a scientist, I think that if having high LDL causes atherosclerosis, it should cause it every single time in everyone of the same age. There should be no one having a CAC score of zero. Yet there are. Plenty of them.

To me, this means something OTHER THAN LDL causes atherosclerosis.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

From the abstract, it looks like a fascinating study. One line in particular drew my eye:

A higher CAC category was associated with increased statin use after CAC scoring (p < 0.001).

Too bad the American Journal of Cardiology is an Elsevier publication; I’d love to read the full study.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #3

Well, you’d certainly think so. And the neurobiologist David Diamond would agree with you. And so would the researchers involved with the International Network of Cholesterol Sceptics (THINCS).

But I recently read a paper arguing that because low to normal LDL is associated with over 50% of first heart attacks, that simply means that our idea of “normal” LDL is far too high, and everyone should be taking a statin.

(Bob M) #4

I know, it sucks that you can’t read the whole thing. It’s hard to know about the higher statin use with higher CAC, other than perhaps the CAC was taken because there was evidence of atherosclerosis? I don’t know why CACs are being taken, because no one seems to know of their existence.

Yeah, David Diamond doesn’t think that LDL is a risk factor…period.