Xylitol

(Beverley Ann Such) #1

What are thoughts on xylitol? Does it spike your blood sugar? 100g of carbs per 100g weight but zero sugars.

(Allie) #2

Some people yes, others no. I can use it without problems but choose not to have it in the house because of my animals.

(Christopher Bingel) #3

I would do an N=1 experiment with a glucometer, but I’ve found that all sweeteners spike my blood glucose to some extent, Xylitol the least. I suspect it also spikes my insulin quite a bit, judging by the short period of time before I get hungry after any sweetener.

(Beverley Ann Such) #4

Hi Christopher,
thanks for suggestion,
what is N=1? Im a newbie so no idea what it is.l I will probably start small, couple of ounces or teaspoons in a recipe. I have not long started the keto diet so have decided to reach fat adaptation before I try sweeteners. I just wanted to know what people use.

(Christopher Bingel) #5

Without going too nerdy, it means an experiment with one data set, you! On the podcast, Carl goes over the process, but basically, get a few sweeteners that you want to try. Take your blood glucose, then drink a teaspoon of the sweetener (or whatever standard measure you want to use, but keep it even across the different sweeteners) in a glass of water. Take your glucose again an hour after your drink, and again at two hours. The next day try the next sweetener. You could probably try after 4-6 hours, but I think you’d get truer results with 24 hours between sweeteners. The one with the lower spike after an hour would theoretically be your best option.