Would You Buy a $400 Chef's Knife?

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #1

No. No desire for it.

(Laurie) #3

I used to be a cook, and I understand why someone would. But in my current lifestyle, no.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4

If I were a chef, Iā€™d consider it.

(Marianne) #5

I have had an set of inexpensive knives for years. Every day before I use them, I sharpen them. Thatā€™s all I need. They work great.

yup I got cheapy ones too and with that sharpener, omg I have to watch I donā€™t cut off a hand while dealing with my steaks :slight_smile: my knives scare me some days HA

(Bob M) #7

I havenā€™t bought a $400 knife, but my two most used knives are Japanese steel. I find the cheap knives donā€™t hold an edge for very long. And a dull knife is a dangerous knife.

(Marianne) #8

I canā€™t work without a razor sharp knife now. They say a dull knife is more dangerous than a sharp one, and I believe it. Iā€™d be more afraid of my knife if I were chopping onions and stuff like you see on tv! Thatā€™s crazy. Another thing that petrifies me is when people use a mandolin with their bare hands. :pleading_face::grimacing:

(Robin) #9

No, but I would accept one as a gift. Thanks!

(Susan) #10

I would not; that is way above my price range --unless I was a millionaire, then I might not mind (but I have always budgeted like crazy so hard to know!).

(Doug) #11

I think itā€™s one of those incremental, non-linear things. A $40 knive is not ā€œtwice as goodā€ as a $20 one, in general. A $100 knife is likely ā€œsomewhat betterā€ than the $40 knife, but around the world would often not be worth it. For $400, or $4000, youā€™re probably truly getting a ā€œfantasticā€ knife, but the price is increasing by orders of magnitude, and ā€œgiant leapsā€ while the quality is going up by small increments.