Wide blood pressure

(Rob Mills) #1

I’ve been doing carnivore for 3 months. I feel great, have lost some weight. One thing that surprised me thought was my blood pressure. I was usually right around 120/80 give or take a few.

I recently took my BP several times and my upper number was between 128-135. But what really surprised me was my lower number which ranged between 57-70.

Not sure what to make of that large gap and whether or not it has anything to do with the diet.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

Yes, it has. Elevated insulin interferes with the production of nitric oxide (NO), which the body uses to relax arterial walls. The stiffer walls lead to higher diastolic pressure. An elevated systolic pressure is not as much of a problem to the body, because it comes in acute bursts, but an elevated diastolic pressure is constant.

Now that your insulin is lower, your body can again make use of the NO you produce, so your diastolic pressure has dropped. Congratulations!

My blood pressure went from around 140/90 pre-keto, to 112/70 at last measurement.

P.S.—Welcome to the forums!

(Rob Mills) #3

Very interesting. Thanks for the info Paul!

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4

In case you are not aware, there is a very strong hypothesis that the chronic diseases that currently plague us are the result of metabolic damage caused by an inappropriate diet. This is why reverting to a low-carbohydrate, high-fat ketogenic diet so powerfully reverses such conditions as hypertension, diabetes, gout, cardiovascular disease, fatty liver disease, and so forth, and why it can also mitigate (in cases where the damage is too great to be repaired) certain cancers, Alzheimer’s disease, schizophrenia, Parkinson’s disease, and other neurological and even psychological conditions. (For instance, I know of a psychiatrist who uses a ketogenic diet to treat anorexia nervosa and bulimia.)