What to do differently next time for a Half Marathon

(Amy F) #1

I just completed a brutal hilly trail half marathon! I finished (yay!) but my keto nutrition and eating plan wasn’t enough to sustain me the 4 hours I was out there.

Any ideas for next time? (If there is a next time I want to be prepared…hah!) Should I have taken in some carbs?

FYI: I had steak and roasted vegetables with butter for dinner the night before. That morning, I had sausage and coffee with heavy cream. I had Nuun in my camelbak, salt tabs, and pink himalayan sea salt. I was feeling bonky early on at 7 miles, so I had an almond butter with chocolate hazelnut packet and pickles at the aid stations.

Thanks for any help or information!

Amy :slight_smile:

(Khara) #2

How long have you been fat adapted?

(Amy F) #3

I’ve been eating Keto for 6 months but have had some cheat days during that time.

(Damon Chance) #4

This podcast has the current 100 mile record holder on it talking about how he fuels for his races. He’s Keto too.

(Khara) #5

Hmm. That’s not exactly a super short period of time. If you had said 6 weeks that would’ve been my thought. My max distance running was 7 miles. I felt with Keto I could go forever energy wise. It was my legs that couldn’t go further. I have heard that with continued training your body will improve running on Keto. Maybe at 6 months you just need more time with it. My understanding of adding carbs is that it is mostly beneficial for sprints.

(Amy F) #6

I was able to complete an 11 mile training run with no problem, but the endless hills really wore me out to where I felt depleted and my legs were shredded. Maybe more weight training would be helpful rather than diet changes???

(Doug) #7

The night before he won the 1972 Olympic Marathon, Frank Shorter downed a couple liters of good German beer.

Not saying that’s any miracle cure, nor even specifically advisable, but you never know.

(Khara) #8