What should blood glucose be at when in ketosis?

intermittentfasting
protein
bloodglucose

(Marius Solberg) #1

Hello! My name is Marius, from Norway. I am totally new to keto, and also new to this forum. :slight_smile:

I am now entering my second week with a ketogentic diet, and I have to say that I really enjoy it, even though I am sure the true benefits havent really turned up yet. I was intermittent fasting for a couple of weeks before I decided to begin my keto life, and fasting is still something I do every day, mainly because of the increase in growth hormones. So I think I might have an advantage considering the whole adaptation phase. But even though I feel quite fine, and I have a better mental clarity, along with less hunger, I have a few questions.

I am a bit concerned that I am not really in ketosis, but that my body is just running low carb. I know its not really accurate to use ketostix, but I am using the ketostix before bedtime, and I never get more than “moderate”. Since I am fasting 20 hours a day, and weight lifting in the fasting window, maybe I am using all my ketones? I am not sure how that works.

Another thing I am wondering about, is what level my blood glucose should be at. I have no idea what level it ideally should be at when you are in ketosis. Last night, after fasting for 20 hours I measured before my first meal, it was at 4,9mmol/L, and today one hours after eating it was just the same, 4,9mmol/L, or 86,4mg/dL. I read somewhere that the blood glucose should be under 3mmol/L, if not you are not in ketosis. Is this right? Considering my blood glucose is very stable, in my mind I would think I am slowly beginning to run mainly on fat, but I am not sure. You have any thoughts about this? I would appreciate any feedback, as I am a keto newbee.