Welcome to Ask Coach Allan!

(Allan Misner) #1

Welcome to the Ask Coach Allan Subcategory!

When Carl was in Pensacola Beach for a Keto Minifest, we talked about setting up this forum. Many of us get into ketosis, have tons (also spelled tonnes?) of energy and don’t know how to use it. I’d like to help you with that.

Please post questions about exercise, motivation, rest, recovery, etc. I am an NASM certified personal trainer with specialization in corrective exercise, functional aging, and fitness nutrition (which was bunk because it touted the US govt guidelines). I eat ketogenic and train hard. I’m not here to coach you through keto, just help you maximize your fitness using keto.

Let’s stay calm, keto on, and get fit!

(Julie ) #2

Do you have any experience with half marathon/ competitive walk? The reason for asking is 53 yr old Female and it take about 3 hours to do a race if pushing for time. Last race for time was a 3:04 finish. Was really doing good till about miles nine then (hit the Walk :unamused: ) Did well with hydration and electrolytes, but feel that I had depleted the sugar’s in my system. Reason being at mile 9 they gave out pop sicole and then at the end I had a diet coke both time felt better. Would like some input. I did not eat carbs before the race and only after I had finished did a even eat any.

(KetoQ) #3

Hi Julie –

I’ve been doing a lot of recreational walking over the past year and have a 9 and 12 mile course that I often use.

You have a pretty good time, as my 12 mile walk is about 4 hrs and my 9 mile at 3 hrs. The 9 mile I can do fasted and often take hydration, especially on warmer days. I’m a bit tired, but feel pretty good on completion.