Using a Keto meal replacement as a starting point

startingout
quick-meals
mealplanning
newbies
food

(Michel Labelle) #1

Disclamers:

I don’t actually recommend this, as eating whole, nutrient dense foods should be your default starting point, but recognizing that anything more complicated than a microwave or toaster is reality for some people, I’m writing this as a starting point for those individuals. If you are one of them, please read on in hopes this gives you a starting place.

It is also important for the evangelists in the forum to understand that “food stress” is real for many people. Difficulty finding good foods, finding time to cook, and even the mountain that shopping for foods can be can be overwhelming and is the reason why I’m writing this.

Background:
For myself I’ve been flirting with a Low Carb / Healthy Fat diet for about 10 years. Mostly with the assistance of my wife who is much more nutritionally oriented than I. Avocado is something I’ve avoided my entire adult life, but I am partial to bacon and butter, so at least I had that to go from.

About 2 years ago, I knew I had to make a change and it started by figuring out how to eat more, not healthier, but simply more so that I could get over 1500 calories per day. A the time I was bouncing between 260-270 lbs. Weight would go on, and come off. Some days I’d eat breakfast and lunch, others I might go 24-48 hours without eating.

To be clear this was not fasting, this was stress and lifestyle related malnutrition. I’d typically end up with a great dinner as my wife and I would eat together, but breakfast and lunch were very much optional for me, and if I did eat, it was usually instant oatmeal, a breakfast sandwich and a sub for lunch. All high carb, processed and typically non-nutrious. We have flirted with various “diets” at home, and worked our way from Fast Nutrition, to Paleo and most recently Whole30. So the journey has been long and well tested.

The Change: