The only thing that doesn't make sense to me

There is only one aspect of this diet that I can’t figure out. Everyone says “don’t chase ketones” and “higher levels don’t mean better” but then those SAME people talk about “deeper” ketosis being better, or desiring more ketones, or what not. Why do people like Jimmy Moore and so many others want more ketones if it doesn’t matter? It seems to me it DOES matter to some degree, but I have no idea how or why
anyone? Why do people want more ketones? (other than severe medical issues)

(karen) #2

I’m really new to this, so this is just a guess. But you can “raise” your ketones by doing things like eating exogenous ketones (supplements). All it means is that you have put more ketones in your blood, and your reading will be higher, but your body hasn’t actually done anything to accomplish this, it really doesn’t mean anything. Maybe that’s what they mean by “chasing ketones”?

(karen) #3

To add, that’s different from actually eating a diet that puts you in ketosis, which is when your body uses fat as fuel - ideally its own fat. (in other words, you lose weight). So if you’ve got a true rise in ketones, it should mean your body is burning fat really well.

(Chris W) #4

I think that is subjective and maybe contextual, I would say it matters who you are talking about.
I also would say for most people it does not really matter all that much, the people having the hardest time adapting to fat are going to be the ones who are bouncing in and out of keto with low levels though, typically T2D and IR folks. Those folks need to track a little more closely, things like excessive protein or slightly above normal carbs can cause more issues with them since they have more insulin reaction than people less metabolically challenged.