Tasting carbs for my job

cookingguide

(Andrew Fawcett) #1

I am new here and have been eating keto for the past two weeks. I took to it like a duck to water and have little to zero problems adjusting. Perhaps I am being a little neurotic here but this question has been with me since I started.

I work as a cook in a day care cooking for about 25 young children, ages 1.5-5 years. So as part of my job I do find that I occasionally will have to take a slight taste of some things that I cook, and I am certainly not cooking the same way for the kids as I now do for myself.

Thus today I had to taste a very small portion of a cheese sauce containing flour, milk and of course cheese. I guess what I am wondering is will these small tastes (probably about a quarter of a teaspoon) of non keto food have any effect on my system?

As I mentioned I am adjusting well and have no desire or craving towards carb filled foods so the small test tastes do nothing to tempt me away from keto, am just worrying a bit (probably a neurotically) that these small tastes will mess up my system. It is really just things like soups and sauces I feel the need to taste for salt & spicing. Foods such as pasta I can gauge with timing and crushing a cooked piece between my thumb and finger.

Any thoughts on this?

(Richard Morris) #2

different people have different tolerances to glucose. You might find if you aren’t craving carbohydrates after tasting it, that you had an amount beneath your personal tolerance.

(Karen Parrott) #3

Are you able to taste it, then spit it out, or rinse? I’ll bet , in time, that the foods you make could change so that the small amounts will matter even less.

I fast after 1 pm everyday, so I don’t taste any food prepped in the PM. I find myself adding more salt when I go to eat. Or have my teen taste test it.

(Andrew Fawcett) #4

Yeah I was thinking of the taste, rinse and spit method. Just hope I do not disturb my co workers with this.:slight_smile: