Swerve

(Melissa ) #1

Typically I’m one not to replace sugar with any sweeteners, I’m ok without sugar in my life. That being said, I’ve seen a lot of people who use swerve while on keto. Any thoughts on swerve? It would be nice to have something to bake with on occasion. Thanks so much! :slight_smile:

(Rob) #2

I’m new to keto and sugar substitutes , but my only problem with erythritol (I haven’t personally used the Swerve brand but have heard there can be a similar issue) is that it is tough to dissolve. I use the granular but I’ve heard people can have the same issue with confectioners/powdered style. First batch of fat bombs I made it was obvious nothing was dissolved.

I looked up several potential solutions. The one that worked best for me was heating up some coconut oil that I was going to use anyway and dissolving the erythritol in the heated coconut oil. The coconut oil didn’t have to cool much (it was still hot to the touch) before the erythritol started to crystalize/harden. Erythritol is a little less sweet than sugar … you may end up adjusting your recipes.

Some people have reported some digestive issues with it. I haven’t experienced that. Lots of information available on erythritol … some of it conflicting (now there’s a surprise!).

Dissolving it has been my only issue and there are work arounds. I haven’t noticed any aftertaste like I have with other sugar substitutes. Your mileage may vary.

(Brandy Fischbach) #3

I’ve used regular erythritol and Swerve confectioners. I haven’t had any problem with the confectioners dissolving. The granular though doesn’t disolve. If you are baking with it though, it would be fine. If it is a no bake recipe, it may be a little grainy from the erythritol. Also too much can cause diarrhea. My son tried to make some hot tea with erythritol (he used way too much) and had some “issues.” LOL

(Jay AM) #4