Strange reading from my ketomojo

(Timothy Jan Atkins) #1

I have been eating like a pig for about 4 months now, every day around 5-6000 kcal of junk food. I have the keto mojo. I did ketomad at about 600 kcal for 2 days, then straight in to a 3 day fast.

25march GKI 15.3, G82, K0.3.

26 march GKI 3.8, G68, K1.0.

27march GKI 0.9, G63, K 3,6 (Day 1/3 day fast)

28 march GKI 0.5, G68, K7.1 (Day 2/3 day fast)

29march GKI 0.3, G55, K HI (Day 3/3 fast, before dinner)

29 march GKI 0.5, G68, K7 (Day 3/3 fast, 30 min after dinner)

29 march GKI 0.4, G70, K HI (Day 3/3 fast, 1h15 min after dinner)

The only exercise i do is 1 hours walk in the morning and then about 100 pushups spread out over the day. the rest is sedentary.

The ketones are very high. The test are taken at around 4pm. Ketoacidosis?

I also should say that I usually do ketomads every day for 6-month periods where im very strict with the macros.
Ive got bad heartburn and im tired. maybe i went in to a 3 day fast too quickly? should have done a week of 24’s and then a few2 days.

Im amazed it only took 3 days to get a GKI that low. Im used to doing 24’s, usually for 6 months straight.

The high ketones worry me. im not diabetic, i checked 3 years ago, but i only have one adrenal gland that doesnt work. I take hydrocortisone (2x10 mg a day), and levaxin for hypothyroidism (50mg)

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

If your pancreas is producing any insulin at all, then diabetic ketoacidosis (hyperglycaemia combined with serum β-hydroxybutyrate over 10.0) should not be a concern.

If you are taking an SGLT-2 inhibitor, then euglycaemic ketoacidosis (without the hyperglycaemia) is a possibility, but your doctor would have warned you about it.

Euglycaemic ketoacidosis can also occur in women who are pregnant or lactating, on a keto diet, and who try to fast. The keto part is fine; it’s just that those conditions are too strenuous on the body for fasting to be feasible.