Starting keto for mental health reasons. Any success?

(Jeffrey Belanger) #1

Today is day one of keto and im doing it for health reasons. I have been battling severe depression and anxiety for the last 6 years and im tired of doctors throwing medications at me and i have literally tried everything else, so i am praying that keto will help me get my life back. I have heard stories about the ketogenic diet improving brain health. Can anyone here relate to this? Has anyone had any success with this? Im also wondering what to expect during the first month of keto?

(Wendy) #2

Hi Jeff Welcome!!
I too have experienced anxiety to the point I hadn’t taken a trip for 15yrs. I have been on Keto since April. So I booked a flight to visit my sister, In Oregon, so 15yrs ago, I was a mess, xanax and imodium were my constant companion. So I was prepared. I had an early flight,cked in had my boarding pass. Got to the airport in Las Vegas. Went through security with no delays. Suprising enough, everything went off without a hitch! And to my utter surprise! No Xanax or imodium! I couldn’t believe it! I called my husband and told him! My return flight was the same experience. I can only give credit to Keto! Btw had a great time in Oregon! My sister and I are planning next yrs trip. My other experience, I had Low Bloodsugar. Had a hard time regulating it. It put me in the hospital last yr. Affecting my heart rhythm. And put 20# xtra pounds on. Since my Bloodsugar stays around 80 to 93. No side effects. Heart rhythm is steady, bp has gone down. And have lost 40#! 20 to go. So keep Positive and be Patient, everyone is different. This forum is the best 1! So much good feedback,and experiences. Lots of knowledge to help you with any challenge you might face! Good Luck! :blush:

(Jeffrey Belanger) #3

That is so amazing! Thank you!

(Susan) #4