Spinach?

One of my favorite children’s books is “If you Give a Mouse a Cookie,” the thesis of which is that feeding a demand leads to more demands.

So now I am studying Keto, and each day brings me new questions, challenges, etc.

I decided to eat more spinach within my carb allotment and this morning I read (the cookie) something that led me in yet another new direction (I want the glass of milk).

OK, so this online source said that unless you eat organic spinach, you are likely consuming a lot of toxic chemicals.

Now I don’t know anything about this source, its credibility, etc., but I do know that organic spinach is not readily available to me in my local store, and so the bagged (non organic but “washed”) spinach has been my green of choice.

So the next glass of milk: Can I grow spinach indoors? I have a window herb-garden which I love, and so another google search yields the information that yes, spinach (and a host of other healthy greens) may be grown provided there is sufficient light, soil, space, etc.).

So NOW the question is: do I have to locate “organic potting soil?” Do I have to locate “organic, non-gmo seeds?” And if so, where do I get them? My gardening center has lots of potting mediums (Miracle Gro, Hoffman, etc.), but none of them is labeled “organic” or “for organic gardening.”

This mouse has had her cookie (metaphorically – I’m not eating any sugar or flour) and now I need my glass(es) of milk.

Libby

(Wendy) #2

Yes you can grow it inside but I’d get a grow light because soon the days will be shorter and they need more light.
There is organic soil available. I make my own soIl with peatmoss and soil and manure. I have never grown spinach inside myself.

Thanks, Wendy! Honestly, I don’t know whether I have enough space (in my big window areas) to grow spinach or other greens. If I am eating greens each day, I might have to do more inside growing than I have space to accommodate.

Something to think (worry) about!

(Wendy) #4