Spices?

I usually add garlic and onion powder when I’m cooking meat. Is a small amount of spices still considered as zero carb?

(matt ) #2

Both are about 6gr per Tablespoon. So depends on how much you add and how many servings are in the dish.

(G. Andrew Duthie) #3

I won’t speak to zero carb, since I’m not an expert in that. However, I did just look up the carb content of garlic and onion powder, and what I found has me reconsidering them.

Onion powder contains 5.4g of carbohydrate per Tbsp, 0.4 of which is fiber.

Garlic powder contains 6g of carbohydrate per Tbsp…don’t recall off the top of my head how much is fiber.

Those numbers suggest to me that their use should be minimized, regardless of whether we’re talking POK (plain old keto) or ZC.

I just do a quick shake of the container when I’m making steaks or something. But when I’ve made taco meat before it was quite a bit, so in that case I’m sure it would add up very quickly.

(G. Andrew Duthie) #5

I think for me, from now on, it’ll either be a pinch, or measured carefully (no more than a 1/2 tsp). Been having some stall issues lately, and I think it’s due to getting sloppy about stuff like this (probably several reasons, this being one).

(Genevieve Biggs) #6

Technically, ZC is not about the number of carbs, but rather zero plant foods because they can be a cause of inflammation. Onions and garlic, for example, are FODMAP foods that can be an irritant for many people. Strict ZC advocates would say to be careful with spices like onion/garlic and watch for signs of inflammation.