So I made brownies and ice cream

(Allie) #1

Used this brownie recipe -

And this ice cream recipe -

And it was really good… but made me feel awful with a horrible stomach, felt sick and had bad diarrhoea :weary:

There’s nothing in the ingredients that I haven’t used plenty of times before so no clues, however I had the same outcome when I made cookies a few weeks ago with this recipe -

The only correlation between them is the erythritol I used, but I’ve been using it for the last three years. Not so much in recent months as I very rarely want sweet things, so could it be that my body for some reason just can’t tolerate it anymore?

(Ashley) #2

I’m assuming it could be after not having it for awhile. Ketoconnect talk about it that type of sweetener doing it to them when first using it until they got used to it. And megha even says if she has too much of that sweetener she still gets stomach aches.

(Allie) #3

I don’t remember having any issues when I first started using it, but I think you’re right. It’s so rare I have sweet things now, I may just ditch them altogether to avoid this.

(Ashley) #4

I didn’t use sweeteners the first two months and then slowly started to, I can tell when I have it my tummy hurts some, I think it’s also stalling me so I’m cutting it out as well!

(Allie) #5

We have to listen to the messages our bodies send us.

(Brian) #6

I made some of Megha’s chocolate gelato ice cream a couple of days ago. It’s so easy, and it is really good, as in seriously decadent. As far as I’m concerned, it can stand right along side of any commercial ice cream and not need to be ashamed of any kind of weird taste or texture. It’s really good. (It doesn’t have to be chocolate, either. It makes a wonderful base for most any kind of ice cream that you like.)

That said, it’s very rich. It’s not something I need to be eating a lot of.