Snacking habit

keto
newbies
fasting

(Laura) #1

I have a problematic snack habit.

It’s worst when I am at work at my desk and feeling bored.

I tried intermittent fasting off and on a few years ago (but not with Keto) and I think that has only made it worse. It isn’t for me, at least not yet. It just causes my brain to panic and want to eat everything once I’ve eaten one thing.

The snacking is time consuming and uncomfortable and I think it interferes with listening to my body. It’s inconvenient and no good for my psychological health or lifestyle freedom. I am not very good at knowing when I am hungry and when I am sated.

Again, I think this might actually be a product of having tried intermittent fasting too many times before, Because I really wasn’t THAT bad with snacking before I tried IF. I think I didn’t ease into IF, or I was too restrictive or didn’t eat enough or something. So if I do IF again then I’m just going to wait until it is a thing that more naturally happens.

My hope is that with keto, I will eat two or three good size meals a day and more importantly, that I will more easily recognize both when I’m hungry and when I’ve had enough. And if I’m hungry I’ll be able to wait longer without getting impatient.

Is this something that has happened for those of you in keto long term? How long did it take?

Hoping that I will soon quit thinking about snacking or wanting to snack. I am 5 to 6 weeks in.

Maybe it’s silly, but I feel like if I hear other stories with a timeline to them then I will feel encouraged that it will happen for me to if I keep going.

(Ohio ) #2

If I’m bored, agitated , stressed etc it gets harder to ignore hunger. Stuck in a terrible workplace. Yep.

Exercise ironically reduces appetite for me. Driving does too.

I make some peppermint patties from coconut oil, honey, peppermint oil & dark chocolate They also kill appetite, mainly because of peppermint.