Shift workers -When do you eat?

(Goldie King) #1

Hello everyone. I am new to Keto and will be starting in a couple of days. I am looking forward to something new because Lord only knows I have done everything else!!! Anyway, I work from 2.30pm till 11.00pm and get home around midnight. That’s when I am the hungriest!!! Will Keto work for me because I don’t eat at work really…I wait till I get home. Any suggestions??

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #2

I’ll let others advise re IF, which may be a solution for you. My opinion is, however, that eating at midnight just before going to bed is probably not the best time.

I also work shifts at Walmart, but my shifts vary day to day. I eat 3 meals per day and sometimes a 4th in late eve, if I need to bring up my macro/calorie totals for the day. My work shifts are always approx 8 hours, which includes a one hour ‘meal’ break. I always eat during that meal break. It’s never my main meal, but it is a substantial meal, not just a low cal ‘snack’.

I always eat before going to work, even when my shift starts at 6:30-7:00 am and I have to get up at 4:30 to do it. If my shift starts at 2-3pm I eat my main meal of the day at noon. I make sure my ‘shift meal’ is substantial because I do not eat after getting home at 11:30-midnight.

PS: I edited your title to try to get the attention of others with ideas that may be helpful even if they don’t relate to shift work. If you don’t like my edit, feel free to remove it.

(Goldie King) #3

Thank you, no problem! I will take all the help I can get. Lol. I will try eating before work, it’s really hard to make time to eat at due to the type of work I am in. It’s security work so it can be difficult depending on what’s going on. I appreciate you though.

Thanks!

GK.

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #4