“Replenishing glycogen stores”

(Erin Macfarland ) #1

Many of you know I’ve been doing keto for over three years, with a couple of breaks when i had to regain some weight. So it’s always fun to realize that there is still more to learn about how the body processes different types of energy. I’m very active, and have a lot of lean muscle mass, and while I’m not as lean as I was when I was underweight (which is a good thing!) I do have a relatively low body fat percentage (I don’t know exactly because I stopped weighing and measuring myself but I’d guess I’m around 20% or so which is considered “athletic” for women.) My question is, I am trying to understand the process by which my body would “replenish glycogen stores” when i eat some non keto foods, which I do probably once a week. I don’t freak out about having 100 or 150 grams of carbs occasionally because I have no metabolic disorders and I’m so physically active. Since I have a history of restrictive eating disorders, allowing myself to eat some cookies or whatever on occasion helps me stay balanced mentally. But I am curious about how my body utilizes the extra carbs. When I hear discussions about people on keto who have an occasional meal where they consume a higher amount of carbs, it is often said that the excess carbohydrate will just go to replenishing glycogen stores in the muscle and liver. However, it’s my understanding that these glycogen stores are kept sufficiently “full” while on keto due to gluconeogenisis. Most days I eat pretty close to zero carb/carnivore, with a small amount of green vegetables and as much fatty meat as it takes to feel satiated . I fast for around 20 hours a day and always do fasted workouts in the mornings. So what is happening when I exercise in the morning, fast until around dinner, and then consume “excess” carbohydrates? Are my glycogen stores “replenished “ from gluconeogenisis already and the carbs end up floating around in my blood stream and pounding their inflammato