Real-Life "Keto Support Groups"

(Sam) #1

Hey guys. I’ve been doing Keto on and off for several years, but I have a hard time never cheating without peer support, and I REALLY crave a ‘fellowship’ for keto’ers.

Imagine a world where there are ubiquitous support groups for keto - similar to how there are ubiquitous support groups for alcoholism and addiction.

“Ketogenic Recovery”, or “Ketogenic Society”, or “Ketogenic Support Group”. Meetings govern themselves and make their own arrangements for rent, etc. A few bylaws, a non-profit 501c3 status, and a collaborative textbook written - explaining what keto is and how to do it.

Does anyone else think this is a good idea?

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

“Ketonians Anonymous”—love it. “Hi, my name is Paul, and I’m keto.” :+1:

(Laurie) #3

Of course, it’s a great idea! Lots of ketoers feel isolated and would benefit from this kind of support.

A while ago, a forum member posted about her local support group. I think they met in each other’s homes for a meal, conversation, and a cooking lesson. Unfortunately, I can’t find the thread.

I used to attend OA meetings where all the members were on Atkins. It was really more of an Atkins meeting, as we didn’t discuss the 12 Steps much. We met in a restaurant and ordered steaks with extra butter, etc. Friendships were formed and we’d invite each other for lunch, go for walks, etc.

(Sam) #4

If you guys wanted to do make this happen, how would you do it? What would your first steps be?

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #5
  1. We admitted we were powerless over insulin.

2. Came to believe that the right way of eating could restore us to metabolic health.

3. Made a decision to eat less than 20 grams of carbohydrate a day.

4. Made a list of all the foods that had harmed us, and became willing to stop eating them all.

5. Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being the exact nature of our poor diet.

Well you get the idea. . . . :grin: