Question about strength gains and caloric defecit

I have been doing keto for a long time, but since 2020 I’ve been doing it very very badly. Overeating protein, and carbs creeping up. A friend of mine has been slowly working towards becoming a Starting Strength coach and encouraged me to get in the gym.

So I started lifting a couple of weeks ago and also started drinking the starting strength Kool-Aid, listening to Mark Rippetoe’s book “starting strength” and following his podcasts. I’m on a novice linear progression, and all of this has encouraged me to tighten up my keto game, along with some Intermittent fasting. Im definitely back in ketosis, and feeling awesome about it.

It is amazing how quickly my body has started feeling better, the nagging everyday lower back pain is fading fast, and I’m full of energy.

So here is my question, (I have posted this same thing to a couple of other places because I’m really wanting to collect a lot of opinions about it.)

My coach says that my novice linear progression (strength gains for the uninitiated) may slow sooner than some because I’ll be eating at a caloric deficit. This might be true, but my theory is that it won’t because my body will remain fueled as I have PLENTY of body fat to convert to ketones/fuel. So even if I’m eating at a caloric deficit, my body will have plenty of caloric fuel to use.

FWIW, I’m a 48-year-old male, Very overweight. Been checking my ketones and blood glucose frequently with a keto mojo meter. Ketones are currently at .8 and they have been steadily increasing.

(KM) #2

You won’t necessarily be in a calorie deficit just because you’re eating keto. Are you intentionally limiting calories?