Progress since I started ~3 months ago

(Mike Glasbrener) #1

Admins: Please move to the appropriate category if it doesn’t belong here or feel free to delete if it’s wrong to share my positive progress.

I’m an engineer by training (and personality). I’m 6’4" or so. I’m also 55yrs old and raised 3 kids. 2 are still in HS. I was pre-diabetic in January and tore my right quad several times between Nov 7th last year and Jan 2nd thi year. Since the end of January I started managing my diet after a doc’s visit showing nothing else was wrong except torn quad and prediabetes which I think were correlated. I’ve been rehabbing it since and am at about 95%. However, I’m still being conservative about overload. My right knee will get arthroscopic surgery on June 20th. Also, from about 47yrs old to 51yrs old I was a moderately high level recreational athelete doing several 100mile rides and a 1/2 ironman.

I initially did low/zero complex carbs lowish fat and moderate protein. So a fair bit of raw veggies… A couple of online friends were in another keto group and I had read and am a fan of Taubes and Attia so I kind of soft rolled into keto. I think I was mostly eating keto by end of Feb. It’s when I started weighing myself. Prior to that I was afraid, very afraid that I would be a bit depressed I had let myself go so far. The transition to keto for me was relatively smooth. I don’t mind experimenting with food. There’s nothing I won’t try once, especially if it’s loaded with good fat. Also, I have a withings scale and can be a bit OCD about weighing myself, every morning first thing in my birthday suit. Doing this gives me additional information about what’s going on with my body. Sometimes the results seem random. However, either falsely or justifiably so I can assign some causes to weight changes.