Problem with alcohol

(Marianne) #1

I’ve been doing keto happily and effortlessly for over four months. Haven’t cheated once and have no desire to (sort of as I will explain). The only thing I am having trouble with is alcohol. I completely abstained for over a month, then I started having champagne when I would go out with friends (1-2x/mo.). Now I find I am craving champagne. Probably my carb addiction rearing its ugly head in sneaky fashion. I am off today and bought a bottle for this weekend (because I deserve it).

I don’t want to quit living, but I feel so guilty. Not looking for permission but opinions - okay or slippery slope?

(The Lackadaisical Ketologist ) #2

The first step in overcoming your addiction is to admit you have a problem. That’s what my therapist told me at anger management classes, before I got mad and walked out anyway. The more I crave something the more I stay away from it. If I could trust my impulses I would not need to be on this forum or eating keto.

(Susan) #3

If you really need to have an alcoholic beverage for a treat to yourself; why not trying to substitute the champagne with something that has no sugar? I think the sugar in it is what is making you crave it.

I would suggest getting a sugar free sparkling water, and adding some vodka to that or a flavoured sparking water that has no sugar/calories if you can try that… pretending? I think that it is the sugar in it that is keeping your cravings going because I haven’t had any alcohol since April (started Keto in February) and didn’t have any until that one night and not since, next time I am having some will be at our October concert. I am just thinking that since you have been having a drink that has sugar in it, that is the problem.