Pressure cooker help

(Hyperbole- best thing in the universe!) #1

I edited the title of this post because the topic changed from cooking chicken to using a pressure cooker. Thought it might help if someone searched for the topic in the future.

I am new to cooking meat, so I have some rookie questions. I just cooked whole leg chicken thighs in my pressure cooker, unseasoned because the plan is to shred it and use the bones for broth. My question is about the schmaltz. Seems like if I let the water cool I can scoop that off the top. True? Is that amount worth keeping? Any suggestions for next time? Maybe I should use the fat for frying he skins…

(Hyperbole- best thing in the universe!) #2

Ok, duh… use the fatty water in the bone broth.

(Banting & Yudkin & Atkins & Eadeses & Cordain & Taubes & Volek & Naiman & Bikman ) #3

If you cool the liquid and the schmaltz separates, you can basically use it like you would use butter.

If you add it to the stock/broth, it will likely separate when cooled, but when heated will form a layer of liquid globules on the surface. Generally not desirable in a service environment, but keto makes odd ducks who go for that kinda thing.

Also, good for you as a new cook going for this. You should get a lot of mileage out of your P-cooker, especially as soup/stew season descends on the northern hemisphere.

(Hyperbole- best thing in the universe!) #4

I’m sub-tropical, but still enjoy a good stew in the winter as we don’t have indoor heating.

I’ve considered getting an instapot… but the Chinese ones are ,strangely, all in Chinese. I can read characters, but unfamiliar subjects are much harder. I’m sure it would be good for me to learn how to use it. I should invite a friend over for intapot reading lessons.

(Banting & Yudkin & Atkins & Eadeses & Cordain & Taubes & Volek & Naiman & Bikman ) #5