Preparing for physical - would like the best references

(John) #1

Physical with full blood panel and NMR lipid test scheduled for next Thursday. I’ve been doing Keto for almost 2 months now. Feel great. Lots of energy, lost 22 lbs, cut out alcohol almost completely (my earlier posts were dealing with how to incorporate craft beer but after feeling this good, I don’t NEED craft beer! - which is wild, but anyway)…

I have full access to pub med with free articles for where I work. I’ll briefly say I’m a scientist/biochemist by training, now I’m more into the science/business aspect. Regardless, I can understand some studies. My concern is that when I go on a pubmed search, I find a lot of wishy washy style articles. Once will directly say small dense LDL is the devil and another will say that it’s just as important as general LDL levels (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22539783 page 177 bottom - “The present results indicate that LDL lipoprotein particle measurements provide little additional predictive value over traditional measures for occlusive vascular events in a high-risk population.”).

I’m hearing the Dudes and Jimmy interview all these docs who seem so certain that saturated fat is just fine and that NMR lipid analysis will save the day but I like to prepare and I’m concerned my doctor will laugh me out of the room with a “and I thought you had a Ph.D.?”

I’m having trouble finding the best references to support the following statements: can anyone help fill in the blanks?

Saturated Fat is just fine - I see it in mainstream book references but are there any studies that support our 80% fat intake? The recent Lancet paper with the PURE study seems to include fat % of about 45%. Certainly that paper calls for revisions of dietary concepts but Keto is about twice what they are looking at for fat intake.