Postparandial insulin response

(Kathy L) #1

I’ve heard on KetoTalk that you can test a food (or sweetener) to see if it causes an insulin response. If your BG drops after eating a food - that means it caused an insulin response (undesirable)

My question is-how far would your BG # fall to signify this? A couple points? A lot?

My experiment this morning had my BG fall from (fasting) BG of 94 to a 1 hr. postparandial of 89. Does this mean I had an insulin response & should avoid the food? In this case it was powdered swerve.

Thanks everyone!

I’m no expert, but that seems like a null response to me.

(Richard Morris) #3

yeah that’s close to the limit for noise I would think.

(Stickin' with mammoth) #4

Um…I usually get something akin to a reactive hypoglycemic crash after eating ANY food in amounts greater than a few mouthfuls, regardless of previous hunger or ensuing satiety. Yet, fasting feels worse. It’s a little unnerving.

I’m batting around the idea of going no carb to combat this but then how the hell do I get in my fiber? My bowels are already holding me at gunpoint.

(Kathy L) #5

If you aren’t eating “carbage” you don’t need fiber like you used to. Fat keeps everything well oiled. So increase fat? I very seldom have a problem there -(not saying never tho)

Thanks @pilotbob & @Richard - good news to me!

(Stickin' with mammoth) #6

Ooooh, yes I do. I’ve never used so little toilet paper in my life. I’ve tried oils*, fats, water, salt, exercise, and coffee. It’s gotten uncomfortable. I don’t use medications as I prefer to find my way back out of rooms I’ve gotten myself into. Besides, anything in a pill bottle reminds me of doctors and sends me into a rage spiral like a rabid honey badger.

*The one thing that used to work was an inordinate amount of bacon along with its delicious lubricant but that volume makes me throw up now, literally.

(Larry Lustig) #7