Plant or meat based diets for mental health?

(Mario) #1

Hi. I am new to keto. I ended up here because I am listening to Chris Palmer and his postulate that keto can have a tremendously positive impact on serious mental health issues (severe depression, bi-polar, schizo-effective disorder) and sleep. When I do further research, I read from others that I should cut out all meat and go with a fully plant-based (and grain) diet for mental health, and that chicken and even eggs are negative contributors to mental health.

So, I am confused and would appreciate others’ perspectives.

And I realize keto does not have to be all meat and eggs. But those typically do make up part of a ketogenic diet, right?

(Allie) #2

Don’t be swayed by propaganda or anyone who tries to tell you what is right for your body and mind. Try both, see what works for you. Maybe stick with one, or the other - maybe blend the two, maybe do one for a while until it stops working, then change.

No one can tell you what your body needs to tell you.

(Bill) #3

These two are pretty good on the subject.

Considering that mental health of humans how insanely complicated (even the human body is complicated but the mental part…), it would be very odd to get One Right Way to eat to improve it… Even our body don’t accept the same specific diet, there is no one where everyone would feel okay.
(Take away my precious eggs and I probably develop some serious mental problems…)

We simply don’t know enough about things to say things like you mentioned - or if we do, it’s not that meat affects mental healthy badly… Humanity is still in the phase where there are baseless myths everywhere, it’s quite annoying.

I suppose few people skip both, yes… I did vegetarian keto for years, with lots of eggs :slight_smile: Vegan ketoers are very few I imagine, it’s such a hardcore style…