"organic Carni"

(KM) #1

I was reading about Frankobear’s dinner party and it got me wondering about animal farming. This isn’t meant to be judgy or about ethics or spiritual concerns.

Eating organic, grass-fed, free range, wild catch, humane, etc etc etc to satiety is bank busting expensive, and often very hard to come by. It also requires a lot of leg work, as slapping a label on things is so popular. Free range meaning there’s a 4x4 dirt patch a chicken can walk into if it pleases and so on. What I’m wondering is whether anyone here is specifically targeting natural/wild/rotation farming (ala Joel Salatin) for their ZC diet, and if you are, do you find that it has made a physical / testable difference? I keep reading about the poor feeding practices for farmed animals, and how that has skewed the Omega profiles along with other nutrient differences.

for me I am a farmer. I kept 400 chickens for egg production sales and 125 hogs and cattle and I had all the pasture meats and more.
I tell you for me personally…I do fine on store bought and feed lot meats etc. I have no issues at all finding ‘cheaper meat’ sales and I never buy grass fed organic no antibotic and all that, unless it is on a super markdown cause no one else is buying that higher priced stuff, then I grab it :slight_smile:

for me on taste I prefer grain finished beef. I just like it better. I finished my own cattle on it too and I am not a fan of some of the ‘grass fed no antiboitic’ tastes of other’s cattle out there.

Eggs I have to say mine were better. Fresher right out of the chicken that minute LOL but I now buy store bought eggs since we closed the farm down and retired and while I know there is a diff in taste etc. I don’t find it in any way a deterrent for me.