One Week of "Normal" eating

(Robin) #1

So, I had an interesting experience when my husband and I decided to just eat “normal” for the week we were packing up and moving to a new house. A little background:

I have been keto on and off for over a year. I am type 2 diabetic, 250 lbs and have PCOS (Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome). I struggle to maintain my keto lifestyle because of a food addiction and it is difficult to stay true for more than a month, but I tend to get right back on the bandwagon after a day or so.

Back to the point of this post. My husband and I moved recently and we both decided for convenience that we would eat a “normal” diet for this period of time. It was also the last week of school and as I am a teacher, that meant end of the year parties, cupcakes, soda and staff lunches. Moving and packing meant that we chowed down on fast food. I should have known better. Here is a list of all of the byproducts of my “normal” diet.

1. Migraines: I had forgotten that before Keto, I had 1-2 migraines a month. I had 2 in one week… while moving… and wrapping up student grades for the school year.
  2. Lower brain function: It took me much longer to finish my grading for the end of the year and it made making decisions about moving much more difficult.
  3. Cystic Acne: Yup. Lots of it. Gross.
  4. Cravings, Cravings, Cravings: I wanted ALL OF THE FOOD all of the time. It was awful. My husband even noticed how food didn’t fill him up like it normally did.
  5. Swelling: My wedding ring didn’t fit anymore, my shoes and pants were tight. Ugh.
  6. Lack of energy and motivation: I just didn’t want to get up and do anything anymore. I was soooooo tired.
  7. Grumpy: I became Mrs. Grumpy Pants all week long, snapping at friend and foe alike with equal ferocity.
  8. Eye Twitched: My old stress indicator appeared with a vengeance, my left eye twitched constantly.