Obesity-Linked Diagnoses On The Rise Among Kids And Teens

(Marc) #1

This from Yahoo news.

From the article:
Claims for Type 2 diabetes — formerly known as adult-onset diabetes — among people younger than 23 years old more than doubled between 2011 and 2015, according to the analysis of a large national database of health claims paid by about 60 insurers.

At the same time, claims for prediabetes among children and youth rose 110 percent, while high blood pressure claims rose 67 percent. Sleep apnea, a condition in which a patient temporarily stops breathing while sleeping, rose 161 percent.

http://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2017/01/12/509374443/obesity-linked-diagnoses-on-the-rise-among-kids-and-teens<https:/urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url

(Mark) #2

(Marc) #3

Yup, that’s good information, Mark. I know I’m beating a dead horse by forwarding all these articles. I should probably stop, but I’m interested in how the mainstream is slowly changing its view. I started studying/practicing low carb back in the late 90’s. There wasn’t much out there on low-carb that time. Now, more and more stuff is coming out almost daily. I may be a little too anxious to forward information.

(Arlene) #4

Many middle and high schools have coffee places within a few blocks where kids flock to during their lunches and “free” periods to load up on sweetened coffee drinks and high carb snacks. Pizza places and convenience stores are often close by as well. School lunch programs, if available are not much better, just more affordable. Thanks for the article. Maybe a few more parents will get on board and educate their children so we can make some much-needed changes in the future.

(Marc) #5