Not Sure What I'm Doing Wrong

(Angela Henry) #1

Hi all. I’m a newbie here and not even sure I am posting this right :-). I started Keto/IF mid-July and have been staying in my macros per carb manager app that I am using. I have lost 10 pounds, but when I am taking my blood keto levels, it is usually .4 which I understand is light nutritional ketosis. I am typically staying between 15-20 net carbs a day and am in the right range for fat (93 per day) and protein (75 per day). If I go over anything, it is usually in the fat per day area. I am trying to do clean keto eating with walnuts, MCT oil, and avocado for my fat intake and lean meats for protein. I feel I should be in the 1.5-3.0 range and just don’t know what to do or what I might be doing wrong.

IF schedule is: eat at noon until 8 pm and then fast. Calories are usually between 11100-1400 calories per day. If I cheat at all, it is once a week with a small dessert and then I fast longer the next day and eat a high-fat meal when I break my fast.

I do have Hashimoto’s Disease and am not sure if I have to do things differently because of this, but am getting discouraged. If anyone has any ideas on how to get into the 1.5-3.0 range for blood glucose please let me know.

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #2

There are others here with Hashimoto and I’m sure they will have useful and more specific advice for you.

All I want to say is I don’t think you’re doing anything particularly ‘wrong’ except obsessing over your blood meter readings. My advice is put the meter back in the box it came in, put it on the top shelf of your clothes closet, pile lots of stuff on top and in front of it, and forget about it for the next six months.

Stay sub-20 grams of carbs per day, stop your weekly ‘cheat dessert’. It’s not worth it. When you want a treat eat bacon bits. Be careful with the walnuts, they have significant carbs. You’ll be OK. :slightly_smiling_face:

(Angela Henry) #3