not in Ketosis

(Stephen Owens) #1

Hi Guys Newbie here so hope I am in the right place. My wife and I embarked on a keto diet three weeks ago and we are following the diet doctor recipes. I have a keto blood monitor and after three weeks my reading is 0.2 and my wife’s is 0.1 so we are wondering what we are doing wrong. we are mostly under 20 carbs a day according to diet doctor recipes. My breakfast is scrambled eggs (2) 1 grilled tomato and 2 rashers of bacon. Lunch is 2 x grilled boneless chicken thighs and an evening meal would be meatloaf wrapped in parma ham broccoli and asparagus. My wife only uses the portions advised by diet doctor.

Alcohol is twice weekly but its Vodka and slimline tonic for me and white wine for the wife.

Any Ideas?

Regards

Steve

(Scott) #2

You may be producing ketones but to a large extent wasting them. This is why pee strip work at first (change color) but as your body gets more efficient at taking up and using ketones the strips become worthless. I never bothered to measure ketones because I can taste the acetone like flavor when I am there. Just keep carbs <20g and you will be there and give your body time to catch up.

Dump the Vodka, you’re too fresh in for that. Everything else sounds good but make sure you’re eating enough. That sample day doesn’t seem like enough food for most people. Don’t get wrapped up in ketone testing, you’re just gonna piss yourself off for no reason at all. My ketones always sucked and I lost 100lbs like that in a year. You may want to consider tracking what you eat in something like cronometer to make sure you’re not under eating, over eating (you’re not) and making sure you’re not eating in a nutrient deficient way. You guys physically active?

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4

The short answer is not to worry too much about ketone measurements, particularly if you are getting results.