Newby on a bicycle

(Christa Allgood) #1

I’m one week Keto with no cheats or mess ups that I’m aware of. I’m training for the MS150 (its’ 75 miles on Saturday and then 75 miles on Sunday) here in the Ozarks in September. I started training in January and cycle 5 or 6 days a week - an hour during the week and a long ride on Saturday. My longest so far has been 50 so I need to get more miles in soon!
Anyway I had a 25 mile ride this last Saturday (6th day of Keto) and I woke up nauseous. I took extra electrolytes and drank lots of water, ate some fats, etc…I did everything that was recommended to avoid Keto Flu but I think it hit me Saturday. I wasn’t able to finish my ride. That has never happened to me!! It’s gotten to where 25 miles is no big deal. So I guess my question is how long should I shorten my rides before I am more adapted to this lifestyle? I have a pretty heavy training plan over the summer and I know I need to adjust it for Keto - any suggestions on how to do that until I get fat adapted?
This is what my next few Saturdays look like in miles:
6/23 - 30
6/30 - 50
7/7 - 40
7/14 - 50
7/21 - 60**This will be my longest to date
7/27 - 50
Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated!!

(Tom Seest) #2

The good news is that you should be fine by September, even in the hilly Ozarks.

One suggestion would be to just slow down when you’re riding. Try to stay zone 1 or 2 (hard to do in the Ozarks), and just lower your energy consumption and output.

Another would be to try supplementing with VESPA, as it might help you access those fat stores.

http://www.vespapower.com/ofm/strategic-carbohydrates/

You could also look into coaching from either the people at VESPA or http://www.invictuscycling.com/ who specialize in coaching for fat adapted cyclists.

But, I think slowing down and just letting time work it out will help too.

(LeeAnn Brooks) #3