Newbie Help!

(Amanda Tirado) #1

Hello everyone!!! I’ve been stalking these forums for a bit and finally decided to be more active :3

I have a couple of questions. I started keto around June and had great success. But unfortunately I quit like I usually do when needing to commit to something. I was also starting to get frustrated with the amount of money that I was spending on grocceries. I’m throwing myself back into it today and hopefully I can pick right up. Are macros really that important? I’d rather focus on getting under 20 grams of carbs, but I want to be successful with weightloss. When I was eating before, my protein and fats were very close at the end.

Do you recommend electrolyte supplements?
Are there any other tips you’d reccomend for a newbie that’s getting back on the horse again?

(John) #2

Another newbie here, so just sharing some of my discoveries. Veterans may have better ideas for you.

Groceries - get into the habit of going to the grocery store more often, and buying less. One thing I did wrong was to over-buy, especially vegetables, to make sure I didn’t “run out” of proper keto foods, and then end up tossing things that went bad before I could make them. Same with meats for that matter.

I’ve also learned to buy meat when it is on sale, and vacuum seal portions for daily use and put them in the freezer. For example, buy a slab of salmon, cut it into individual portions, cook one today, seal and freeze the other portions for later use.

Veggies - instead of buying those plastic boxes of salad greens for $4.00, buy an individual head of green leaf or romaine lettuce for $1.80, then cut it up yourself and put into plastic zip-lock bags. I get about 3 good sized salads from a single head of lettuce. But you need to realize you’re going to be eating that same salad for 3 days running before it wilts on you. Just mix it up with different dressings, or add-ins (crumbled bacon, hard-boiled eggs, grated cheese, other veggies).