Newbie .... have some questions?

(Lily) #1

Hi , newbie here in Australia … been doing keto for 3 weeks now and have lost 6 kilos so far… I’m loving the food options and feeling better already, still get light headed occasionally but overall getting into the “feel good” and energetic mode…my hubby and cousin are also doing keto so I’m glad we can all support each other, however some family members are concerned about too much red meat and “heart attack” connection etc etc… I feel like I am constantly having to defend my choices to them and I tell them to research it as I have done… I reference Dr Berry and Dr Fung as I love their YouTube videos but they just call them “quacks” and refuse to watch… one family member had me stumped yesterday as they told me that the healthiest country in the world is Spain followed by Italy… my background is Italian, and I am more than aware that their main food is pasta as I have grown up with every kind of pasta out there…his logic was if they are the second healthiest country in the world and eat an abundance of pasta , then why are carbs so bad? I didn’t know how to answer that one and just sat there not knowing what to say… I’ve been reading these forums for a few days now and so many of you on here are very inspirational and well informed… just wondering how you would have tackled a question like that?? Thanks :thinking:

(Full Metal KETO AF) #2