New to Muscle Training

newbies

Hey! I need some tips. :slight_smile:
I used to do a lot of cardio but with this new WOE I feel extremely comfortable trying to build up my muscles with simple exercises at home.
Examples of what I do are crunches, reverse crunches, leg lifts, I use some 3 lb weights and do arm curls and such. (Can you tell I’m focusing on upper body? Lol. My legs are fairly toned so I’m not worried about them as much.)
What I know is: I need to be keeping my electrolytes up and eating enough protein, doing as much as my muscles allow in 60 second with slow steady reps and working up from there, checking my breathing…
But are there any tips I could use?
Am I going to hurt myself if I workout while fasting? (I haven’t tried it yet but just checking).
I’m brand new to doing resistance exercises/muscle training/weight lifting so I need all the help I can get. Thank you!!!

(Adam Kirby) #2

No you will definitely not hurt yourself training while fasted, there is some evidence that fasted training is superior. My tip for you is, consider doing heavier/more intense upper body exercises. Women have had this bullshit “train with super light weights” idea forced on them for decades now, and it’s ineffective crap. You should train the same way a guy would train upper body - heavy compound exercises. This could be done with a barbell, dumbbells, or calisthenic progressions.

(Shaun Dyer) #3

I work out fasted with heavy weight and sometimes do cardio fasted. I have never had problems related to the fasting. If you use a pre-workout then you might consider adding salt to it. I add 1/2 tsp pink salt to my pre-workout and that works for me.

I weight train 2x a week in basically a fasted state early in the morning - I have an espresso with a drop of cream before the gym.