New to Keto not biking

(Karl Miller) #1

My wife did the research and I needed to lose some weight that would not go away, so for 2 weeks now I have been Keto. It’s been go so far dropped 10lb have reduced my daily insulin from 70 to 15 (t2).
I got back to riding in January back to 40-50 mile group rides in May. My concern is what to eat before and during the group ride. Its always been carbs for breakfast and a gel shot at the half way. last week I rode alone and hit the wall at about 1.5 hours got some poweraid Zero and got home safe.

Do I need to “restart” my training with lower intensity rides for awhile or plan on riding with the poweraid or something else. Also if I have been burning fat on rides longer than hour for several years will my body become fat adapted quicker ?

(LeeAnn Brooks) #2

I needed to work back up with running, but I refused to carb up anymore. I run fasted usually and had no problem running a half marathon with only a peanut butter packet and a ZipFizz about an hour before my run. But again, I had to practically start I’ve rwith my training when I went Keto.

(ianrobo) #3

simple answer is yes, if you are fat burning as a principle then you have to do longer lower intensity rides …

so for example I did this on Friday, whilst not fasted, I took no extra food during the ride and not eaten for three hours before (and then it was just eggs)

This is the MAF method and it really does depend on your goals for cycling … if you want to go full on racing, then no chance but if it is about longer rides using your fat to ride on then this is perfect.

(Karl Miller) #4

Thank you for the input. I did a 2.5 hour group ride Saturday had some eggs for breakfast and only used the lyteshow during the ride. I feel different during the ride very “even” no high and lows all the way to the end.

(ianrobo) #5

Thats the whole point of using fat adaption as less stress on the body

(Nicole Silvia) #6