New to Keto, in...out..in...out

(Toby Curry) #1

As the title suggests, I’m new to the Keto lifestyle (I realize already this is a lifestyle change, not a diet). My father-in-law is a 2 year Keto Vet, and served as the foundation to my keto transition. I started, based on his advice, by reading “Any Way You Can” by Dr. Annette Bosworth. I feel like I have a solid foundation of the science behind Keto. About me, well, I’m 41 years old 6’1" 230lbs, American male. At one point (mid 30’s) I was down to around 9% BF and VERY active in the gym, and starving myself of caloric intake, sustaining of high protein. The last few years I have neglected my eating habits and put on around 35 lbs. Thank you frequent trips to Italy and the carbs associated with them………and kids…and work…

Friday July 10, 2020.
Started “eating Keto”.
Target Macro: <20g Carbs with the remainder of calories at 75% Fat and 23% Protein. Off to a roaring start. Logging everything that I eat. Increased water intake to ~120 oz/day.

Monday, July 13, 2020
Produced my first “pink” urine test. Champion at watching what I eat, well under target for carb intake. Probably lower than what I should be (10g)

Tuesday, July 14 through July 18
Noticing some significant "changes in my appetitie. Historically, I could put down some serious quantities of food, and frequently chose to do so. If I thought I might be getting hungry, I would go for a full meal. Terrible, I know. However, I am noticing that I am not nearly as hungry as I have historically been. In fact, I’m eating a very light snack in the afternoon (3 hardboiled aggs and some cheddar cheese cubes) and a full dinner each night (minding nutrients). Still maintaining lots of water intake. Side effect: I’m a little tired. Taking crash naps for about an hour when I get home from work. Chalking that one up to the “Keto Flu”. Still peeing Ketones during every test (morning, noon, and evening)
Down 7 lbs. Weighed each morning after urine test after wake up.