New to keto! - any tips?

(Ezra Valli) #1

Hello,

I’m new to the keto diet. Does anyone have tips to get on the right track?

(Robin) #2

Wow… first of all, Welcome! That is such a broad question, a lot to tackle. The most basic is stay under 20 grams of cabs a day. Just start there. There are apps for counting macros (fat,proteins, and carbs) and many of us started charting daily to find our way. Some stick with the tracking, others of us get the hang of it and just go with the flow. My fave part of keto is that staying under 20g has caused my physical cravings/urges to disappear. And the health benefits will be obvious. Good luck!

I see keto as simply “Minimal carbs. Adequate proteins. Fats as needed (for satiety).”

First, determine your macros, keeping in mind that the proteins macro is a lower limit, while the fats and carbs macros are upper limits.

So, two priorities:

• You need to keep carbs low to stay in ketosis.
  • You need to make sure you get enough proteins. Your body needs them. Being significantly low on them over an extended period can cause the body to get it elsewhere. That may mean break-down of muscle tissue. Not good.

After that, ideally , it should be hunger that determines how many fats and additional proteins (and thus calories) that you need to be eating, if only because leaving yourself hungry all the time means keto won’t be sustainable . You don’t need to eat all of the fats macro if you’re not hungry, because the body can make up the difference with stored body fat.

My boilerplate on foods and recipes:

There are so many low carb options…

There are lots of low carb veggies – mushrooms, cauliflower, cabbage, broccoli, green beans, peppers, snow peas, asparagus, radishes, celery, artichokes, onions, Brussels sprouts, tomatoes, spinach, bok choy, …

There are lots of proteins – eggs, chicken, pork, beef, lamb, fish, seafood, …

There are lots of fats – olive oil, butter, avocado oil, heavy cream, coconut oil, mayo, cheese, …