Need help understanding Keto 60 days in, low BS, high insulin -Help

(LAURA) #1

Hey all,

Been keto since 28 June 19. Start insulin 20 (way to freaking high). Not diabetic, insulin-resistant. My blood sugars are fine, fasting under 90. However, after losing 30 pounds and being keto for 2 months, my insulin has gone up to 22? I’ve been doing 18/6 IF for the last 2 months. I haven’t cheated, I use CM to track my macros, I’m under 20 carbs per day and yet my insulin keeps going up. I’m confused. I thought IF was supposed to help reduce the insulin load, but it’s making mine worse. What gives? Any support is appreciated.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

Welcome to the forums!

Fasting insulin is variable, but your report is a bit surprising. What is the normal range, as shown on the lab report? (Sometimes it varies from lab to lab, depending on their procedures—and in any case, I have no idea what it should look like!)

Did they do a fasting glucose at the same time? Do you have a home meter for glucose/and or ketones?

Having a low insulin/glucagon ratio is a good thing, even if the absolute levels are fairly high. However, I don’t imagine your doctor asked for a glucagon test. So if your ketone numbers have been good, then it’s likely your glucagon was also up, to offset the extra insulin, and there would be nothing to worry about in that case, because the ratio is more important than the absolute values. If your ketone numbers don’t look good, on the other hand, then you probably want to look more closely into what’s going on. If you’d like, you could post what food you’re eating, and we could look for hidden carbs and such.

Knowing your HbA1C would also be helpful.

Lastly, with lipid numbers, it often happens that things don’t settle down until people have been keto for six months or so. I’m wondering if that might not also apply with insulin.

(LAURA) #3