My Vietnam War Diet

Hey y’all, first time poster here who has been lurking, reading and fasting. Tons of comments, stories and questions to spill here but that will come in subsequent posts.

But before the war stories and dietetic horrors of being a Marine grunt in Vietnam …

I am a white male, 68, slightly obese, currently packing 225 robust pounds (down from 255) on a wide 5-7 frame. As a non-diabetic but no doubt highly insulin resistant and probably pre-diabetic, my last vitals had my BP at 113/75, average morning blood glucose 95-102 (more on that later), and A1C over the last two years ranging from a low of 5.6 up to 5.8. Last reading about 2.5 months ago was at 5.7. I have bradycardia with a resting heart rate of 48-54. Still, I suffer with mild “idiopathic” peripheral neuropathy – better known as a fat guy’s idiotic path to warding off diabetes.

I herald from the Cajun country of southern Louisiana where food is king. Also, I’m a retired newspaper editor of 37 years so I’ll try to keep my stories tight and interesting.

I will also break up these segments so I don’t lose the posts and have to re-type them.

Please read on.

(These thoughts and memories come following reading Dr. Fung’s The Obesity Code and his companion work the The Complete Guide to Fasting. I feel compelled to share them with you.)

I graduated from high school in 1968 at a stocky 179 pounds at 5-foot-7. Quite the stout and strong football linebacker, and being patriotic beyond all sense, I enlisted in the Marine Corps. Checking into boot camp in San Diego, I again weighed in at a proud 179. Stepping off the balance scale, my Drill Instructor proceeded to call me a world of vulgar names, the kindest of which was “f-in’ fat body” and promptly put me among the “hogs” who obviously were not as svelte as the other recruits.