My small victory, encouragement, and confession time

(Charlotte) #1

I’m posting in newbies because I still consider myself a newbie. I’ve been doing keto for 9 months with a goal of losing 100lbs. In the beginning of July this year my husband and I went on vacation to Fiji. I fell off the wagon a bit because the food was just too delicious to look at and I lacked the self control. I didn’t go completely nuts, but I did partake in waffles, pancakes, pastries, and sugary quad shot mochas along with my eggs and bacon in the morning… There were parties every night at the resort and I had enjoyed the free booze… I did not discriminate on any of my choices. I did my research ahead of time and I knew that Fiji was a carb heavy culture, and I knew my options would be limited, but no amount of mental preparation would have helped.

When we got home after a week I had gained 5lbs and unfortunately I continued my sloppy choices and stopped all the momentum I had accumulated over the previous 7 months. Everyday for the last 2 months I would go over my 20g carbs and eat around 60-80g. Everyday I kept telling myself “I’ll restart tomorrow and I’ll make the right choices”, but I lacked the self control necessary to get back to my desired path.

On Monday, I was on facebook looking at the Obesity Code Network group and I kept seeing all these people losing mounds of weight in just a couple months and I had enough. I got mad at all these people for having all this great success with fasting in addition to their weight loss regimen and then I got so angry at myself for failing myself inside and out. I’ve been tired of being overweight for the last 20 years, and looking at all those huge results from other people caused me to hit my breaking point. It finally lit the fire in my belly to get serious again. At that point I had lost a total 58lbs in the 9 months I’ve been doing keto and I decided to double down and incorporate longer fasts in weekly.