(Danny) #1

Hey all,

Brand new here so, first of all, hello!

A little about me:
Age - 42
Height - 5’11"
Weight - 160
Lifestyle - Physically active, work out 4-5 days per week

I’ve been doing something of a “pseudo keto” diet since mid September 2022. By that, I mean I haven’t been 100% keto but, have greatly reduced my carb intake overall and eating keto roughly 4 days per week. I’ve had other poor habits given a highly social lifestyle and living in a town chock full of microbreweries… I’ve definitely been drinking more than I should be during this time. Plus, I’ve allowed myself some cheat meals on weekends, though not excessively so. And, finally, my fat intake has been a bit lighter than the traditional keto regimen. Again, hence the “pseudo keto” label.

I’m also not an overweight person. When I started, I was roughly 170-172 and now weigh about 160. I’m 5’11” and physically fit with a 4-5 day per week HIIT workout regimen.

The reason I started keto is because I have a lot of mysterious reactions to food (difficult to pinpoint) which has led to a lot of gas, bloating, discomfort and even GERD. Upon starting, the results were nearly instantaneous… My usual indigestion/gas subsided significantly and I generally felt better. All positives, no perceivable negatives.

However, about 4-6 weeks in, early November, I got a lipid panel to see if this would be a sustainable way of life and the results were less than desirable, at least according to my GP.

Total Cholesterol = 275
HDL = 71
Triglycerides = 106
LDL = 183
Glucose = 76
A1C = 5.3

I figured this was due to the increased fat intake that my body definitely wasn’t used to as I’d been eating a lower fat diet for a very long time. So, we decided to give it a couple months and retest.