Muscle recovery?

(Michele Wilson) #1

Anyone out there know (or have theories on) what’s going on with sore muscles and recovery?

I lift as heavy as I can a few times a week for general health purposes and am at 25% body fat. I’m not looking to go into any competitions or get more cut, I just want to not be hobbling around for 3 full days after I do my squats!

I’m all about n=1 and want to have a basic understanding of what’s happening so that I can come up protocols to test. Thanks for everyone’s input!

I take it we’re talking more than whats considered normal after heavy lifting? As far as the hobbling around after doing heavy squats… were you squatting heavy pre keto? That’s kinda normal and why so many people hate squatting heavy, and leg day to begin with. I’m not physically built well for squats, so I do hack squats and the squat press but when I go real heavy I feel it for a couple days, I don’t know anybody that doesn’t. Since I started lifting heavier I’ve started supplementing more and it has made a night and day difference vs when I was trying my hardest to do it the “right” way. When you go heavy you really do need to supplement. I’m on the second wave of heavier lifting right now, first one was 12 weeks. In that time I put on just under 8lbs muscle (confirmed) which is a very noticeable increase from going without. May be something to consider.

(Michele Wilson) #3

Thanks! I did not weight train pre-keto, so maybe it’s not as bad as it could be!? What do you supplement with?

(Cywgdave) #4

I have been using Doug McGuff’s Body By Science method for the last few years, maybe not quite as exact as he describes it but what I have found is the there is little to no stiffness/soreness in the days following… Search here and there are a few threads on the topic. Search elsewhere and there are lots of threads on the topic.